Wedding Talk
Tuesday, Aug. 31, 2004, 9:11 a.m.

Well, it's tomorrow. And, I don't feel like making a cast page...so I'm not going to. Heh.

Tonight I am going to the beach (weather permitting) with LeeAnn. We're going to buy a bottle of Asti and just sit. It should be nice.

After labor day, Elaine, My step-mother and I are going to Taj to look at wedding dresses. I would really like an old fashioned corset dress with a modern skirt to it, really flouncy and cut angled around my calves. And I want to wear a great big picture hat.

For a minute I was considering NOT going to the Poconos, going to Old Quebec city instead. Basically, because of this conversation with My step-mother. We had been talking about how everything was all set except for a reception hall, Water Gap country club turned out to be a crap hole so I'm looking for another place. She said that the only down payment made had been for the resort...etc., etc., and then:

Noelle (step-mother): How many times do you plan on getting married?

Me (taken aback): Once, hopefully.

Noelle: Well, I'm only paying for it once, so make the most of it.

Jamaica! Paris! London! Fiji! were my immediate thoughts. But, you know, I can't expect C's family to travel out there...and my sister would never be able to afford it, much less Elaine or LeeAnn. And it's important to me that they are there, REALLY important my sister is there. And I would imagine the importance to C for his family to be there.

Okay...so I've always wanted to go to Old Quebec City. It's supposed to be this old town right out of 19th century France. Romantic! But why go in the winter?

On my honeymoon, don't I want to lounge around in bed all day, getting room service, drunk on champagne at 10 a.m., swimming in the IN-ROOM POOL? A fireplace to cuddle up in front of...snow mobiling, ice skating. I just want to be pampered in a resort.

I'll save Old quebec city for another trip. That's a spring trip...and I'd like to bring Baby up there.

So now I'm off to continue the search for a restaurant or banquet hall for the reception.

Hmmm...work sure is fun these days.

last - next